Free
Message: People of Red Mountain Statement of Opposition to Thacker Pass Mine

rkeep, I found it interesting that on the same page as this article there was an advertisement advising the reader to " GO Solar".  Any reference to solar electricity production carries with it the question of how to store it and lithium ion batteries are still a very important part of ESU production, Energy Storage Units.

As for the objections listed in this article by the Fort McDermitt Paiute-Shoshone Tribe, it looks like those objections tie right into the question of whether or not Lithium Nevada will be a "negotiating" mining company or a "non-negotiating" mining company relative to the issues at Thacker Pass.  All is not necessarily what it is dressed up to be and there may be a lack of complete unity among the residents of the Fort McDermitt Paiute-Shoshone Tribe on the issue of Thacker Pass.  I have no inside knowledge one way or the other as to whether there is unanimity in the positon of all members of the Fort McDermitt Paiute-Shoshone Tribe, but I don't think there is much doubt that the better position for Lithium Nevada and LAC is to reach out to the tribe.  I know that early on there were efforts by LAC to incorporate training for some tribal members so that they could be trained to take up employment opportunities with the Thacker Pass mine once it became a reality.  I don't know how those efforts turned out, whether they were readily embraced by members of the tribe or whether they were rejected.