Free
Message: Thoughts on 28 May Lowry podcast with Alexi Zawadzki

The last 10 minutes of the podcast is fluff but the first 31 minutes are somewhat enlightening, and I think worth a listen. I’ll offer my thoughts on what stood out to me and as always, I encourage corrections or additions.

There’s no surprise that he confirmed the recently announced Phase 1 target of 30-40k tpa as opposed to the 30k originally proposed.

He summarized that they are waiting for three major state permits, involving water, air quality and land reclamation, that he expects later this summer. This seemed very optimistic to me, especially for water, but hopefully he knows better.

Regarding water, he said they would be using 2,600 acre feet of water for Phase 1, and double that for Phase 2. I’m no water expert so I haven’t a clue what that means, but someone here does I’m sure. He stressed that they purposely over spent in their design to include a closed loop water system that would reduce water consumption, even though as he stated there are ”readily available” water rights in the area that would have been cheaper. I found this reassuring considering the upcoming hearings on water.

Regarding air quality, he said they would be employing proven technology that reduces emissions from the sulphuric acid plant down to what would come out of a diesel truck, which I guess by mining standards is a relatively good thing. Joe mentioned as an aside that he found it interesting that environmentalists were concerned about LAC’s sulphuric acid plant and not so much about the ones already running that are used to supply ingredients for soft drinks like Coke.