Free

I thought I would chime in with my 4 cents worth on both the subject of Oral Arguments and the upcoming hearing:

1. Oral Arguments

To my knowledge, LAC was the only party to file a request for Oral Argument (see link below):

storage.courtlistener.com/recap/gov.uscourts.nvd.148512/gov.uscourts.nvd.148512.271.0_1.pdf

That filing was specific to a response to Bartell Ranch, LLC and Edward Bartell as Plaintiffs.

I am not a lawyer, but, since LAC did not request an Oral Argument with regards to the ENGOs' filing, than any Oral Argument may be limited in scope to the Bartells in regards to that specific reply since that was the only filing requesting an oral argument. 

That said, it is my understanding that the Judge, at her own discretion, may request Oral Argument on any issues:

"Rule 3.12.  Oral argument.

(a) No oral argument unless ordered.  Decisions will be rendered without oral argument unless otherwise ordered by the court. The court may require oral argument on its own initiative or upon motion of a party."

Here is the link:

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/courtrules/FirstDCR.html

2. Hearing on Pending Motions

The Minute orders filed specifically referenced the January 5th hearing as a "Hearing on Pending Motions". 

There are multiple motions on both sides (primarily related to Summary Judgement requests and related items by both sides).

Outside of the Oral Argument on Bartell, the upcoming hearing will likely have questions that Judge Du (and her Staff Attorney) has outstanding from her Bench Order (which the Staff Attorney likely pulled together with Judge Du's review prior to announcing the January 5th hearing). 

The Bench Order will then likely be amended and then turned into a final ruling.