Mosaic ImmunoEngineering is a nanotechnology-based immunotherapy company developing therapeutics and vaccines to positively impact the lives of patients and their families.

Free
Message: Comments regarding the '584 Patent's Amended Claim 29

Comments regarding the '584 Patent's Amended Claim 29

posted on May 02, 2009 08:03AM

First a caveat. Chip-level engineering is not my area of expertise; I am a system-level engineer. Some might say I know enough to be dangerous. That aside, here are my thoughts and opinions regarding the comparison of the original Claim 29 and the amended Claim 29.

The majority of the amendments appear to address differentiating Claim 29 from both Pomerene and Sachs by introducing the definition for the "predetermined position" of the instruction for a branch operation as the "first location" of the instruction group. The original Claim 29 never refers to a "first position," but rather refers to the location as "predetermined from a boundary" of the instruction group.

Pomerene defines the location in a variable way, meaning to any other address and each time using a different set of data, i.e., not predetermined to be the first location of the instruction group. Similarly, Sachs does not disclose the branch instruction positioned only at the first location of an instruction group, or that the position is even predetermined. To set Claim 29 apart from these two prior art references, the amended language is added, differentiating the location for the branch operation instruction to be at the "first" position in the instruction group.

The primary questions now seem to be:

1. Does the amended definition "first" provide a broader or narrower definition for the location of the branch instruction?
  2. What is the stronger, or preferred, method with regard to microprocessor design and performance within the industry at large?