Aiming to become the global leader in chip-scale photonic solutions by deploying Optical Interposer technology to enable the seamless integration of electronics and photonics for a broad range of vertical market applications

Free

Once upon a time, many years distant now, I studied mathematics. I liked it for its ability to be either right or wrong, no in-betweens, no prevarication (we must leave statistics where it belongs). Under appropriate circumstances it can tell tales. Sometimes the tales are irrelevant and bore the children who sigh, shrug and look elsewhere for their enjoyment, in sweets, i-pads, x-box games, books, football and other palatable and lovely diversions. But, occasionally, just now and then, there can be a surprise. The tale is better, ears are zoned in to the spoken word, eyes become fixed, minds set to focus and the mathematics becomes meaningful, real-world, relevant; a panorama opens. Do you see! can I invite you to enjoy this wondrous spectacle. It is called the beauty of mathematics, when it behaves like this it can rivet, nail, but occasionally screw you.

Well! lookee here, at this. At the very foot of this page is a 3 month graph of date on the x-axis and share price on the y-axis. What do we see? My interpretation is one which can be reasonably described as a rising trend. But, it contains a little more, for the trend in the later dates of this 3-month period has increased. That means the share price is rising faster in the last weeks of the trimester than the first weeks. This is indeed a joyous sight, a beacon of fnancial hope, dies mirabilis, perhaps even a cause for celebration. I would not dare suggest the Champagne is opened, for there can be many a slip between the cup and the lip, though a wide-brimmed glass of Rioja or Claret may suffice at this early stage.