Welcome To the Stock Synergy, Momentum & Breakout HUB On AGORACOM

Edit this title from the Fast Facts Section

Free
Message: interesting elliot wave comment from rightside of the chart

as mentioned earlier, i plan to update many of the active trades on the site, particularly the short trades, which personally (and painfully on some, not so much on others) i have been given some extra leeway on their stops. with the weekend right around the corner and tomorrow most likely being a muted trading day as the market digests today’s gains, i plan to post most of the updates and possibly a video or two over the weekend.

i did, however, want to share a post that was sent to me from a fellow trader tonight. although i am not a huge proponent of elliot wave theory, i do find it useful at times. while i’m not overly focused on wave counts in the market right now, this large wedge pattern on the $SPX is the same one that i’ve recently covered in my weekly SPX charts. more than the particular wave counts, it is Daneric’s comments that echo my current thinking on the market. for years, i have highlighted wedge overthrows/overshoots as some of my favorite patterns to trade, as often prices make a sharp and powerful reversal in the opposite direction shortly following the overthrow. Daneric’s comments below:

The market did indeed lunge toward and overthrow its upper wedgeline on every major index. ”Overthrow” is typical of an ending diagonal triangle rising bearish wedge. It usually ends on excitement and a euphoric spasm. What better euphoric spasm but have the Fed pronounce – in effect – they will never let prices drop by launching yet more QE?