TYHEE GOLD CORP

(PRESS PROFILE TAB FOR FACT SHEET & UPDATES)

Free

I'll Take a Stab at the Financing Situation

posted on Jan 23, 2010 10:19AM

First I am not a 'professional" in anything involving finance and markets. Let's get that clear at the outset. I was a low level engineer in my working career. But I can and do read and think. The knowledge I have of how things financial work... is a work in progress.

Tyhee will make a deal with bankers that will say in effect, "If you will loan us $300M we will pay you back at the rate of $100M per year for 3 years with interest by selling to you our gold production at the price of $XXX (usually a figure $100 to $200 below market at the time the deal is struck. Right there exists a substantial amount of profit lost to shareholders. The larger the loan the more is lost. However something must be done to move forward into production. That is why the "start slow and build from internal financing" is better in the long run.

Additionally, bankers want protection from the unforeseeable. They will require a put option be held throughout the duration of the contract; their financial arm takes the profits on that. Its purpose will be to protect the bank in the event the price of gold falls. Tyhee will be required to purchase and maintain a "put" that will ensure that if the price of gold goes down Tyhee will make enough on the option so that they can continue to make their payments. This too, in effect comes out of the shareholders pockets, because maintaining that put costs money which will be scarce in the earliest periods of production and may cause additional share dilution every time there is a need for capital in the ongoing operations. I don't expect Tyhee to be profitable from day one. The amount of money spent on the put, while a necessary part of the transaction, is money thrown away.