Free

In many cases, a simple solution with a well defined market wins. EDIG is in the HARDWARE business for the most part with regard to the eVU and the medical market....patients and families in hospital rooms, waiting rooms, etc. This is assuming that they ever make a sale in THIS market. This has absolutely nothing to do with the healthcare IT stimulus package, but more to do with entertainment (and possibly patient education). Most medical software that is built for the future is modern day ASP or software-as-a-service (SaaS) where the device itself is almost irrelevant. The internet-delivered software and the people on the other side working remotely for the client are where it's at.

10 years ago I studied more than 50 electronic record solutions before deciding that none of them came close to being satisfactory with regard to speed, ease of use and function face-to-face with patients. Believe me in saying that EDIG really doesn't want to be in this market. I am, however, as after finding no solutions that worked well for a high volume orthopedic surgery practice, I co-ventured with some ex-Anderson Consulting people to build our own solution (ClinicSuite) We are 8 years in and have more than 4 million lines of code in a solution that looks very simple on the surface.