Mosaic ImmunoEngineering is a nanotechnology-based immunotherapy company developing therapeutics and vaccines to positively impact the lives of patients and their families.

Free
Feb 20, 2014 10:09AM
Feb 20, 2014 10:26AM
Feb 20, 2014 03:18PM
Feb 20, 2014 03:31PM
Feb 20, 2014 03:50PM

First, I wasn't necessarily defending the BoD, though we could argue endlessly about their options/alternative actions to avoid settling with Moore under his proposed terms, which included direct involvement of DL and the terms of the ComAg. But perhaps that argument would be worthwhile to place things in proper perspective.

The point of my post was not necessarily to forgive the BoD of that time of any poor judgment, but to point out that DL is the ultimate culpret IMO, and he was selected and foisted on PTSC by Moore at his insistence.

I'm a check & balances oriented person, especially in the conduct of business. I'm also a process analyst (it goes hand-in-hand). The ComAg was approved by the Moore/TPL side (certainly without hesitation, and the only "business person" may have been Mac - assuming he had some business experience), the PTSC BoD which consisted of two attorneys and a high end accountant (no business people), Swartz/Lincoln, and Caplan (in the insurance business). While ignoring all other aspects of the situation at the time (things not going well in court, time ticking away even then), if it were me, I would not have signed the settlement agreement or ComAg.

The problems are known:

1. Sole licensing authority to DL.

2. No provision to prevent commingling.

3. No established performance metrics to be met and exceeded (if they were included, I would have encouraged performance by including an Award/Incentive Fee system to reward strong performance).

4. No system for arms-length visibility of performance to metrics.

The latest TPL/PTSC agreement does away with problems 1 and 2, and to a limited degree 4. There may be things to support item 3 - I do not know.