Mosaic ImmunoEngineering is a nanotechnology-based immunotherapy company developing therapeutics and vaccines to positively impact the lives of patients and their families.

Free
Message: 'My heart, my choice,' Williams says, defending decision for U.S. heart

By the way, I have a Forest Management degree so I think it is an interesting business you have. I have thought about converting some of my land to grow Christmas trees, but the market is too small here where I live in the Ozarks, and the competition is large growers in Michigan and Wisconsin. The site index around here is very marginal due mostly to poor to marginal soils. The small farmer niche today is organic. A family farm cannot compete against the large corporate farms, and the multinational farming conglomerates.

I compete with the big growers by offering a very high quality tree and excellent customer service. We kept our farm small to have better quality control. The quality and service is lacking with the big growers. My trees usually end up on high end lots.

I believe most of the chemical problems are caused by the big growers. They use helicopters and planes to apply pesticides. Spraying pesticides from 25 to 50 feet over a crop imo your asking for drift problems. I have very large buffers between my fields and streams. I've seen the timber companies spraying pesticides with helicopters within the creek canyon. Others use air canons on tractors which can also result in a lot of drift. I use a Honda Fat Cat motorcycle with a tow trailer behind with a 27 gallon tank. I built two booms one for ground spraying (weeds) and a stand-up boom that sprays directly on the tree from the side. This takes longer for me to spray a field because I have to drive each row, but the spray goes where I want it. I'm also very careful to use minimal amounts of pesticides. For one thing they are very expensive so you don't want to waste it or over use it.