HIGH-GRADE NI-CU-PT-PD-ZN-CR-AU-V-TI DISCOVERIES IN THE "RING OF FIRE"

NI 43-101 Update (September 2012): 11.1 Mt @ 1.68% Ni, 0.87% Cu, 0.89 gpt Pt and 3.09 gpt Pd and 0.18 gpt Au (Proven & Probable Reserves) / 8.9 Mt @ 1.10% Ni, 1.14% Cu, 1.16 gpt Pt and 3.49 gpt Pd and 0.30 gpt Au (Inferred Resource)

Free
Jan 07, 2010 02:12PM

Jan 07, 2010 02:24PM

Jan 07, 2010 02:26PM

I took a chunk of it.

Am I happy with the SP? Hell no. Am I okay with it? Yep.

It's my first time through the process of purchasing flow through shares but I believe the net cost per share is somewhere in the ballpark of $1.35. (I wrote a post about it once - I'm guessing at the numbers this time) So I don't really have many regrets. That is unless I had the foresight to hang onto that $$, wait for the SP drop to it's low of around 1.35 - buy and then sell at around the high at $2.80. And do that one more time with Freewest after the fact. But if I had that power I'd be somewhere else I'm sure.

As far as the majority of shareholders who took them? Well, I don't think there is the same tax benefits for corporations/institutional as there are for individual investors with the Flow Through Shares. I have no clue, but I would guess that many of the FTS were sold to individuals - probably wealthy clients of investments firms? So I would think that there are several people in the same boat as me who will simply see the blue sky in the tax write off.

Now...there is another side to this coin - I believe. I can get the Flow Through Tax Write off which is great. Makes the net cost as I mentioned above at 1.35 . The kicker with these shares is that you DO pay capital gains in the long run, and the negative is that you pay on the ENTIRE AMOUNT as you have an adjusted cost base of zero.

That means if I buy a 2.80 FT Share - I can write that entire amount against my income. Great. I'm in the highest tax bracket so it is even more beneficial to me.